The Fortress of Solid-Rules

The unofficial Supercrew fansite

Who Watches the Watchmen? (by BabbageCliologic)

The Watchmen

Rorschach:
3: Skill: detective – “Last night, a comedian died in New York. Somebody knows why. Somebody knows.”
2: Attack: street fighter – “This city is afraid of me.”
1: Equipment: gas-powered grappling gun
Tricks:
Re-roll: Unexpected action – “Tactically brilliant, and unpredictable.”
Die is a 5: Gain info – “Give me smallest finger on man’s hand. I’ll produce information.”
Effect 2: Everything is a weapon – in the story, he uses a toilet bowl, a fork, cooking fat, a cigarette, all as weapons.

Ozymandias:
3: Attribute: super genius – “Ozzy here is gonna be the smartest man on the cinder.”
2: Control: complete “body and mind” (self) control
1: Skill: logistics – “I did it…I DID IT!”
Tricks
Re-roll: Catch a bullet – “I suppose I’d have had to catch the bullet, wouldn’t I?”
Die is a 5: Brain power – “An intractable problem can only be resolved by stepping beyond conventional solutions.”
Effect 2: One step ahead – “Do it? Dan, I’m not a Republic serial villain. Do you seriously think I’d explain my master-stroke if there remained the slightest chance of you affecting its outcome? I did it thirty-five minutes ago.”

Night Owl II:
3: Skill: inventor
2: Skill: martial arts
1: Equipment: “Archie” (multi-function vehicle)
Tricks:
Re-roll: Proto-type – “The exoskeleton broke my arm.”
Die is a 5: I have one of those back in my Lair
Effect 2: Utility Belt – “What else have you got in there? Chocolate rations? Boy Scout knife? Army-issue contraceptives?”

Dr. Manhattan:
3: Attribute: super genius – “this world’s smartest man means no more to me than does its smartest termite.”
2: Control: energy – “I’ve walked across the sun.”
1: Super power: teleport – “You coulda teleported either of us to goddamn Australia…”
Tricks:
Re-roll: See possible futures – “There is no future. There is no past. Do you see? Time is simultaneous, an intricately structured jewel that humans insist on viewing one edge at a time, when the whole design is visible in every facet.”
Die is a 5: Revitalize – “Reconstructing myself after the subtraction of my intrinsic field was the first trick I learned.”
Effect 2: Mass teleport – “You will all return to your homes, now!”

The Comedian:
3: Skill: government contacts- “Since the Keene Act was passed in ’77 only the government-sponsored weirdos are active. They don’t interfere.”
2: Equipment: big guns – “Listen, you little punks, you better get back in your rat holes! I got riot gas, I got rubber bullets…”
1: Skill: martial arts
Tricks:
Re-roll: Positive mental attitude – “Hey… I never said it was a good joke! I’m just playing along with the gag…”
Die is a 5: Mean right hook – “Waiting for a flash of enlightenment in all this blood and thunder.”
Effect 2: Shot from the grassy knoll – an unexpected attack – “Just don’t ask me where I was when I heard about J.F.K.”

Silk Spectre II:
3: Attribute: super luck – “I’m used to going out at 3 A.M. and doing something stupid.”
2: Skill: martial arts
1: Equipment: a gun
Tricks:
Re-roll: Second wind
Die is a 5: Help from friends – “Oh my God…I’m on Mars.”
Effect 2: Strange interludes – “People do strange things, their lives take them strange places, and sometimes you can’t talk about them. I know how that is.”

The Minutemen
For Golden Age Superheroes, like the Minutemen (1938 – 1949), I’ve dropped the 3 die ability and the Re-roll trick for beginning characters to better model the two-fisted, limited scope of the era. Abilities are reduced to skills and equipment. However, attacks and attributes are possible but severely limited. Super powers and control are completely dropped since few superheroes of that time could fly or lift the Titanic. Supercrew heroes still earn Hero Points using their 1 die ability but that translates to an extra die to roll (akin to the Anecdote bonus) during play, with maximum 1 Hero Point per action.

The Comedian:
2: Skill: martial arts
1: Equipment: the cigar
Tricks:
Die is a 5: Mean right hook
Effect 2: Shit-eating grin – dazzles his foes

Night Owl I (Hollis Mason):
2: Skill: police procedures
1: Attribute: Strength
Tricks:
Die is a 5: Two-fisted attack.
Effect 2: Police contacts

Silk Spectre I (Sally Jupiter):
2: Equipment: Revealing costume
1: Skill: fisticuffs
Tricks:
Die is a 5: Distraction!
Effect 2: Sucker-punch

Captain Metropolis (Nelson Gardner):
2: Skill: marine training
1: Skill: leadership
Tricks:
Die is a 5: Let’s try this plan!
Effect 2: Once a marine, always a marine

Hooded Justice (Rolf Muller):
2: Attribute: Brute strength
1: Skill: Circus folk
Tricks:
Die is a 5: Sucker born every day.
Effect 2: Dead lifting

The Dollar Bill (Bill Brady):
2: Skill: security guard
1: Equipment: cape!
Tricks:
Die is a 5: Twirl cape (defense).
Effect 2: Get the drop on a gangster.

The Mothman (Byron Lewis):
2: Skill: detective
1: Equipment: Moth wings (limited flight)
Tricks:
Die is a 5: Attack from above!
Effect 2: Find a clue!

The Silhouette (Ursula Zandt):
2: Skill: gymnastics
1: Attribute: see in the dark
Tricks:
Die is a 5: Take it like a man.
Effect 2: Spin-kick (attack).

Leave a Reply

